manifest the rest of me

I didn’t realize how much I liked manifestos until I started reading/writing them.   I think like other revolutionary words, like feminism and activist, manifesto tends to get a bad rap in our contemporary society.  I’ve never shied away from the other two words and during this semester I completely embraced the third.  A manifesto is empowering.  It is not a list of complaints it is a list of demands and when done right, accompanied by solutions.  We need more manifestos in this country.   And we need more readers of manifestos.

I was fortunate to work with great teammates for this project.  Greg, Cora and I were all on the same page when it came to our thoughts about freedom.  One thing we really enjoyed unpacking was how interconnected all the various topics and assertions had become.  It was hard to pick them apart and isolate them.  And it was hard to separate the ‘now’ from the ‘what could be’ while writing.

Right before our group presentation Greg and I were downstairs getting some coffee.  He turned to me and said, “Geesh, I didn’t realize what a revolutionary I was!”  That is the power of the manifesto; it gives you the freedom to say what you truly think, the power to tell it like you want it, the power to manifest your own inner truth.

I look forward to taking this manifesto further.  I think I have few of them in me.

If you’d like to see our slide presentation it is here:  FreedomManifesto

 

About rmhooper

I am a student in Champlain College's MFA in Emergent Media Program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

