The Passions of a Linchpin

I am passionate about people and their stories.  I am especially fond of characters.  You know, the people that surprise you with sparkle, share stories that are too strange to be made up.  People who have had there dreams stepped on and still get up every morning with new dreams.  I am inspired by perseverance, resourcefulness, and the ability to make a bad joke really good.  I like old ladies with busted shoes that still do their nails, quiet men that lead by example and people that will stop to tell a story to a random stranger while searching for a good honeydew at the corner market.

I am passionate about my son, who is just a tall handsome dear heart of a six year old and seems to just bubble up with a little more brilliance every day.  He disarms my cynicism and keeps me fierce.  He’s my one super lucky situation in this world.

I am passionate about growing things and making things.  I like to tell stories with the arrangement of objects.   I like sending things out in the world to see if they’ll come back to me.  I am fond of secret small artistic acts that never get seen by anyone else but me.    I am passionate about developing my own personal mysteries and then dwelling in them alone but perfectly contained.

I am passionate about passion and being passionate with passionate people.  I like flustery flirtations, non verbal communications, smiling and delivering the hotness.  I’m fond of winking at old men and telling kids ghost stories.  I like sassy people who say the quiet part loud and aren’t afraid to be their true selves.  I’d like to believe that I am one of those people.

Does that make me a linch pin?  I would say so.  But not in every situation, I have to believe in what I’m doing, that there is some good purpose for me participating.  Then I work tirelessly to do whatever I can to launch a project or help spread an idea or do laborious grunt work.

I certainly believe in the work that I’m doing for The Burlington Children’s Space.  Affordable childcare is a really important issue to me and I feel like BCS is one of the best preschools in the community.  They do an amazing job and provide a lot of under served kids with a great start.
When I became a single parent my son was 3 and I ended up starting my own business as a response to not having affordable childcare.  It was take your kid to work day everyday for me.  And while that was good in a lot of ways I couldn’t make the business decisions I needed to make and found that my son wasn’t getting everything he needed, like naps and getting to play outside. “Mommies working” is something he heard too much.
So when he started preschool I was so relieved that he was just down the road from me playing with other kids, eating a nutritious lunch made with local foods and taking a nice long nap.  Then I could do the things that I needed to get my business off the ground and build a local community around sustainable fashion.

Every family that goes to BCS has a story to tell.  The school has helped children and their parents go out in the world and make the city a better place.  Yet it is a constant struggle for them to get the grants and financial support that they need in order to maintain the quality of care while serving families from every economic situation.

My goal with this project is to give the school a tool to tell their story so they can gain the support that they need to continue doing the great work that they do.   They need a website that defines their mission and tells the stories about the families that benefit directly for affordable childcare.  A site that is persuasive and can be shown to potential funders.  The also need to link up the blogs that they already have and make them more consistent and well connected parts of their public out reach.  For the six week class my goal is to map out a project strategy and begin to compile content.   Though I plan on continuing the project after the class is over because I believe strongly BCS needs this.  Though my son is no longer at the school I still feel like we are members of the BCS community and that this is a way that I can give back, because I’m a linchpin like that.

About rmhooper

I am a student in Champlain College's MFA in Emergent Media Program.
This entry was posted in Ideas and Inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

